Ladydiane4GOD

Meditations of My Heart

For Katelynn


I was reading an article on “How to Know if your Child is Being Bullied“, and I  realized that these were the signs that I could see in my daughter as she was going through Jr. High.  She seemed afraid to go to school, she would come home looking like she purposly ripped her clothes, and I wanted her to be so loved and encouraged that I never asked the tough questions, like “Why are you doing this to youself?” or “Who did this to you?”

   I always told her that she was perfect, but the fact is she was over weight, I remember school and how I, or others treated fat people… What is wrong with me for not talking to her, I just didn’t know where to start, but I didn’t want to lie. So, there are the two precipices to avoid:

1. Everyone is a winner.

2. You are nothing, because someone else is prettier or better than you.

And now I need to speak into her what I truly know beyond a shadow of doubt, what is true.  I want to say instead to a child I love or on whose upbringing I have some influence, that  I think of many things, but there’s only one truth and one way to say it:

“The LORD is  the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable” (Is. 40:28).

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together  for good,  for  those who are called according to his purpose” (Rom. 8:28).

Your God, your Creator, your Father loves you and knows you better than anyone else can ever know you. He wants you to be blessed, happy. He also knows what he wants you to achieve, and he offers you magnificent, out-of-this-world rewards. His desires for you?

  •  Blessed are  the poor in spirit, for  theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  •  Blessed are  those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  •  Blessed are the  meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
  •  Blessed are those who hunger and  thirst  for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.
  •  Blessed are  the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.
  •  Blessed are  the pure in heart, for  they shall see God.
  •  Blessed are  the peacemakers, for  they shall be called  sons  of God.
  •  Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for  theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  •  Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely  on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven . . . . (Matt. 5:3-12)

Did you get that…not the normal qualities we all strive for here in life, but last Sunday during Bible Academy the Pastor was teaching the Sermon on the Mt.  and all I could think of when we went over these “Blessings”  was that was what my daughter need to know…then it all came flushing through me again today when I read the article on bullying.  I’m still going to tell her…you are blessed and loved, it’s never too late to hear those words and get them into a right perspective.

I hope you’ll notice that His primary desires for your happiness doesn’t mention anything scholarly or professional, though fulfilling His desires will affect these and all aspects of your life. 

Does his list seem overwhelming? Just remember this: He knows your weaknesses, and you can achieve what he wants you to achieve, through him who strengthens you (Phil. 4:13).

One response to “For Katelynn